Violin Concerto

Violin and Orchestra Study Score

Product Number: HL49046240

Publisher: Eulenburg

Medium: Softcover

Voicing: Study Score

Format: Study Score

Composer: Alban Berg

The violin concerto from 1935 is probably the best-known and most frequently performed instrumental work by Alban Berg. Written on behalf of the violinist Louis Krasner, it is his last completed composition. Krasner played the solo part at the world premiere at the Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona on 19 April 1936 after Berg's death. The concert is dedicated to “The Memory of an Angel.” Berg processed the death of 18-year-old Manon Gropius, who had contracted polio, and his daughter Alma Mahler-Werfel's marriage to architect Walter Gropius. His intention was “to translate the traits of the young girl into musical characters”.

With more than 1,200 titles from orchestral and choral literature, chamber music and music theater, Edition Eulenburg is the largest score series in the world. It covers a large part of music history from the baroque to classical modernism and looks back on a long tradition.

82 pages. Dimensions: 9.00" long x 6.00" wide.

UPC: 888680964696

EAN/ISBN-13: 9783795714536

ISBN-10: 3795714532