Chant Symphonique, Op. 57

Orchestra Study Score

Product Number: HL48024642

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes

Medium: Softcover

Voicing: Study Score

Format: Study Score

Composer: Serge Prokofieff

New edition of this enigmatic, single-movement work for full orchestra lasting 13 minutes and dating from the early-1930s. In his preface, Gerard McBurney comments that, “Despite the music's modernist surface, the Chant symphonique's 'three closely integrated movements' correspond rather neatly to a traditional sonata-form exposition, development and recapitulation. There is even an overall tonality of sorts - D major. But 'parts', 'moods', keys and cadences are all subjected in this unusual work to tremendous pressure and distortion, so that we quickly begin to suspect that something other, different and more mysterious, is really going on here.”

68 pages. Dimensions: 10.25" long x 7.25" wide.

UPC: 888680949068

EAN/ISBN-13: 9781784542658

ISBN-10: 1784542652