These, The Endangered

by Paul Jennings

Subtitled "A Suite For Recorders and Orchestra," this special suite started life in our acclaimed Recorder Classroom magazine. It consists of three movements: Polar Bear, Whale, and Tiger, each of which works great by itself. But performing the whole suite is not only an exciting musical experience, but is also a wonderful opportunity for cross-curricular study.

Each movement is arranged for full orchestra, as you'll hear on the amazing recordings, as well as for three recorder parts - two soprano and an optional alto part. Part I is the easiest, using just G, A, B, and C. The work can be performed very nicely with just this part. Part II is slightly harder, adding high D and low E. The alto part is great for an alto player in his/her first year. The kit includes all parts, a condensed score, and lots of extras:

  • Two optional Interludes for recorders and Orff instruments
  • A script with information about endangered animals
  • PowerPoints® of endangered animals - one for each movement in the suite
  • Colorful endangered animal artwork in PDF format
  • A separate PDF of Tiger photos
  • Little Bear, a wonderful sound story by Teresa Jennings
  • A PowerPoint® version of the sound story
  • Polar bear clip art
  • Alternate audio tracks to give you more flexibility

(from Recorder Classroom Vol. 1, Nos. 2, 3 & 4)

About the Downloadable OptionThe downloadable version contains all the components the print version would, but in electronic format. Files may be quite large: A high-speed connection is recommended. (Visit the Download Help page for more info.)

About the Audio RecordingsAudio recordings contain full performance and accompaniment only (instrumental) tracks.

Prod. #
Product Description
These, The Endangered - Downloadable Recorder Suite
Downloadable PDFs and Performance/Accompaniment MP3s: Two files - 42MB and 62.8MB

Sound Samples

Song Title
Polar Bear
Listen To Sound Clips While You Browse